2012 “Foundation of Art Award” Winner: Oliver Doriss

10 Jun

Award-winning glass artist and gallerist, Oliver Doriss. Photo courtesy of GTCF

The Greater Tacoma Community Foundation is pleased to announce glass artist Oliver Doriss as the winner of its fifth annual “Foundation of Art Award”. Founded in 2008, the Foundation of Art Award is one of the most prestigious regional art awards, designed to recognize the talent and commitment of local artists to the Pierce County community. As the recipient, Doriss will receive a $7,500 award and create a commissioned art piece for the Community Foundation, to be unveiled in December 2012 at a five-year culminating art show featuring the work of Foundation of Art Award nominees from the past five years.

“Palimpsest” by Oliver Doriss. Photo courtesy of GTCF

An artist from a young age, Doriss transitioned from ceramics to working in glass at the age of 16, and has been an active member of the contemporary glass movement for over two decades. His artwork ranges from cast glass sculptural forms to public art installation. In 2007, Doriss founded the Fulcrum Gallery, a contemporary art venue in Tacoma’s Hilltop neighborhood, which he owns and operates.

“Oliver is deeply committed to art in Tacoma, both as an artist and a gallerist,” said Jeremy Mangan, former Foundation of Art Award winner and the Foundation of Art Committee member who nominated Doriss for the Award. “His own glass work is as unique and risky as it is beautiful, and Fulcrum Gallery is a vital and dynamic venue where art and community meet in the best way.”

“Domed City” by Oliver Doriss. Photo courtesy of GTCF

Doriss was one of 16 talented Pierce County artists nominated for the award by a committee of local art professionals. Other nominees included R.R. Anderson, Gabriel Brown, Kyle Dillehay, Spencer Ebbinga, Travis Galindo, Susan Russell Hall, Matt Johnson, Chris Jordan, Maria Jost, Chuck Knigge, Meghan Mitchell, Peter Serko, Kenji Stoll, Sharon Styer and Judy Wagner.

“I was flattered just to be nominated,” said Doriss. “I couldn’t have done a better job at identifying the creative community than in the artists that were nominated. To be selected as the winner and have that recognition is very validating.”

An online gallery is available at http://www.gtcf.org showcasing images of each nominee’s artwork, as well as interviews with the artists.

The previous four Foundation of Art winners include Chris Sharp in 2008, Jeremy Mangan in 2009 Lisa Kinoshita in 2010 and Jessica Spring in 2011.

Congratulations, Oliver!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: